Our Staff

Rabbi Muller 400-300-Web


Congregation Rodef Sholom is most fortunate to have Rabbi Franklin W. Muller, D.D. as its spiritual leader. Rabbi Muller has been serving the congregation since 1995. Born in San Francisco, Rabbi Muller received a BS degree from the University of California at Berkeley, and acquired his rabbinic ordination in 1983 at the Cincinnati campus of the Hebrew Union College/Jewish Institute of Religion. In 2008, Rabbi Muller was honored by his alma mater and awarded the Doctor of Divinity degree for 25 years of service in the rabbinate.

Before coming to Youngstown, Rabbi Muller served for ten years as Rabbi of Temple Emanuel in Roanoke, Virginia, preceded by two years as assistant Rabbi at Temple Israel in St. Louis.

Rabbi Muller works in all areas of Temple life. He is committed to helping people uncover the richness of Judaism and deepen their bonds with it. He envisions a truly involved community of members actively searching for spiritual growth, educational enrichment, and social interaction. His wife Darlene is very active in the congregation and has had numerous leadership roles in both the Jewish and secular community.


The office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Personnel include:

  • Sarah Wilschek – Executive Director
  • Renee Fowler – Administrative Assistant
  • Jennifer Lloyd – Office Manager
  • Robert Golubich – Custodian
  • Kathryn Miller – Organist
  • William Ambert – Soloist


  • President: Atty. Aaron Hively
  • Vice-President: Michael Rawl
  • Treasurer: Harvey Kayne
  • Secretary: Douglas Abbatiello

   Board Trustees:

  • Mr. Niel Altman
  • Mrs. Claudia Axelson
  • Mrs. Brigitt Berk
  • Ms. Sally Blau
  • Mr. Jason Bostocky
  • Mrs. Nancy Burnett
  • Mr. Ron Heiman
  • Mr. Tedd Kunkel
  • Mr. Alan Nathan
  • Mrs. Jane Pollack
  • Mr. Alan Samuels
  • Ms. Audrey Schwebel
  • Mrs. Ashley Sperling
  • Mr. David Wilscheck


Brotherhood Mr. Tod Newman
Cemetery Mr. Alan Nathan – Pennsylvania
Mr. David Penner – Ohio
Investment Mr. Marc. Rubin
Membership Mrs. Claudia Axelson
Mitzvah Mrs. Marcia Levy
Raffle Mr. Marc Rubin, Co-Chair
Mr. Jeff Simon, Co-Chair
Ritual Mr. Elliot Legow
Sisterhood Ms. Sally Blau
Social Action Mrs. Nancy Burnett